Telegraph Quartet

Please note, this event has expired.

Presented by Chamber Music Houston at Rice University - Alice Pratt Brown Hall - Stude Concert Hall, Houston TX

Jan 21 2020
Telegraph Quartet

Winner of the Fischoff (2014) and Naumburg (2016) Awards, the Telegraph Quartet makes its Chamber Music Houston debut this season.

This San Francisco-based ensemble brings a combination of brilliance and subtlety to a program that includes the neo-Baroque dance suite with Schulhoff’s Five Pieces — taking us on a journey of unique styles through the composer’s own lens.

“…an incredibly valuable addition to the cultural landscape”
San Fransisco Chronicle 

Schulhoff – Five Pieces for String Quintet
Mendelssohn – Quartet No. 3 in D Major, Op. 44, No. 1
Weinberg – Quartet No. 6, Op. 35

Eric Chin and Joseph Maile, violin
Pei-Ling Lin, viola
Jeremiah Shaw, cello


Tickets may be purchased online, by phoning 713-348-5400 or at the box office in the foyer beginning at 6 pm that evening (credit cards, checks and cash).

2019-2020 Full Season Subscriptions and Create Your Own Subscription packages range from 3-Concert Subscriptions to 9-Concert Subscriptions. Subscribe now and save up to 38%!

Single event ticket sales begin on July 1st. Prices range from $25-85.

Student and senior (65+) discounts available!

Self park for $5 at the gate (credit or debit card only) or Valet park for $15 (cash or card).

Contact: 7133485400


    Official Website


Additional time info:

What to expect:

If this is a new experience for you, welcome! The ushers will provide a Concert Program when you enter the hall and they take your ticket. They will also help you find your seat.

Our chamber music concerts usually consist of three music compositions. Most classical pieces consist of several movements. Refer to your Program and enjoy the interesting program notes written about each piece. When the performers pause between movements, refrain from applause (even though you really want to express your enthusiasm). Applause is given after all of the movements have been performed. This allows the performers to stay focused and even re-tune their instruments, if necessary.

There will a 15-minute intermission to stretch your legs and enjoy a glass of wine and snacks in the lobby. If available, recordings by the performers are offered for purchase ($20 – $30 each, cash or check only).

The concert will last approximately two hours, with a 15-minute intermission included.

If you would like to meet the performers, stay in the lobby after the concert. As soon as possible, they will come out to the lobby to answer your questions, sign an autograph, and even take a selfie with you!

* Event durations (if noted) are approximate. Please check with the presenting organization or venue to confirm start times and duration.


Rice University - Alice Pratt Brown Hall - Stude Concert Hall

6100 S. Main, Houston, TX 77005

Google Map of 6100 S. Main, Houston, TX 77005

See what's near this venue

CONNECT WITH Chamber Music Houston

Artsopolis Network Members: Akron OH | Austin TX | Bainbridge Island WA | Birmingham AL | Boston MA | Cape Cod MA | Cincinnati OH | Cleveland OH | Colorado Springs CO | Columbia SC | DuPage County IL | Essex County MA | Flagstaff AZ | Flint MI | Fort Lauderdale FL | Indianapolis IN | Kalamazoo MI | Kansas City MO | Macon GA | Main Line Area PA | Marin County CA | Marquette County MI | Mendocino County CA | Middlesex County NJ | Milwaukee WI | Montgomery County MD | Napa Valley CA | Nashville TN | Niagara County NY | Oklahoma City OK | Orange County CA | Orlando FL | Ottawa IL | Panama City FL | Pittsburgh PA | Providence RI | Quito, Ecuador | Richardson TX | Sacramento CA | San Antonio TX | St. Cloud MN | St. Croix Valley MN/WI | St. Johns County FL | Stillwater MN | Tallahassee FL | Tampa Bay FL | Utah | Ventura CA | York County PA