Mar 17 2020
Pavel Haas Quartet

Pavel Haas Quartet

Presented by Chamber Music Houston at Rice University - Alice Pratt Brown Hall - Stude Concert Hall

Prepare for a diverse program as this Prague-based ensemble moves us through the contemporary Midsummer Quartet, written for them, on to one of Beethoven’s legendary “Rasumovsky” quartets, and concludes with Tchaikovsky’s drama-filled tribute to a friend.

“…they make the music their own…”

Čekovská – Midsummer Quartet
Beethoven – Quartet No. 9 in C Major, Op. 59, No. 3 “Rasumovsky”
Tchaikovsky – Quartet No. 3 in E♭ Minor, Op. 30

Veronika Jarůšková and Marek Zwiebel, violin
Jiří Kabát, viola
Peter Jarůšek, cello

Admission Info

Tickets may be purchased online, by phoning 713-348-5400 or at the box office in the foyer beginning at 6 pm that evening (credit cards, checks and cash).

2019-2020 Full Season Subscriptions and Create Your Own Subscription packages range from 3-Concert Subscriptions to 9-Concert Subscriptions. Subscribe now and save up to 38%!

Single event ticket sales begin on July 1st. Prices range from $25-85.

Student and senior (65+) discounts available!

Self park for $5 at the gate (credit or debit card only) or Valet park for $15 (cash or card).

Phone: 7133485400


Dates & Times

2020/03/17 - 2020/03/17

Additional time info:

What to expect:

If this is a new experience for you, welcome! The ushers will provide a Concert Program when you enter the hall and they take your ticket. They will also help you find your seat.

Our chamber music concerts usually consist of three music compositions. Most classical pieces consist of several movements. Refer to your Program and enjoy the interesting program notes written about each piece. When the performers pause between movements, refrain from applause (even though you really want to express your enthusiasm). Applause is given after all of the movements have been performed. This allows the performers to stay focused and even re-tune their instruments, if necessary.

There will a 15-minute intermission to stretch your legs and enjoy a glass of wine and snacks in the lobby. If available, recordings by the performers are offered for purchase ($20 – $30 each, cash or check only).

The concert will last approximately two hours, with a 15-minute intermission included.

If you would like to meet the performers, stay in the lobby after the concert. As soon as possible, they will come out to the lobby to answer your questions, sign an autograph, and even take a selfie with you!

Location Info

Rice University - Alice Pratt Brown Hall - Stude C...

6100 S. Main, Houston, TX 77005