Feb 20 2022
Tyshawn Sorey "Monochromatic Light (Afterlife)"

Tyshawn Sorey "Monochromatic Light (Afterlife)"

Presented by DACAMERA and Rothko Chapel at Rothko Chapel

Tyshawn Sorey: Monochromatic Light (Afterlife)
Rothko Chapel 50th Anniversary Commission

Tyshawn Sorey, composer, conductor
Houston Chamber Choir
Kim Kashkashian, viola
Steven Schick, percussion
Sarah Rothenberg, piano/celesta

In celebration of the 50th anniversary of the opening of Rothko Chapel, DACAMERA and Rothko Chapel have commissioned boundary-breaking composer Tyshawn Sorey to create a new work inspired by the Chapel. In turn, Sorey was inspired by Morton Feldman’s 20th-century masterpiece, Rothko Chapel, which premiered there in 1972. Using the same instrumentation as Feldman, Tyshawn Sorey brings to it his background in jazz and creative music. Tyshawn Sorey epitomizes DACAMERA’s commitment to work that explodes traditional distinctions between genres.

Tyshawn Sorey – who has called Feldman “my biggest influence as a composer” – was an ideal choice for the project. Discussions with Sorey began in 2018, after DACAMERA’s highly successful presentation of his Perle Noire with soprano Julia Bullock and the International Contemporary Ensemble in 2016. The current commission was originally scheduled to premiere in February 2021, but was postponed due to the Covid-19 pandemic.

“My music is synonymous with meditation in that it is intended to expand one’s consciousness and fulfillment THROUGH the act of listening as well as giving the experiencer the opportunity to heighten their sense of awareness…my music perfectly aligns with the intention of the Chapel, which has always served as a place for meditation.” – Tyshawn Sorey

Admission Info

$25 general admission tickets. No discounts for this performance.

Phone: 713-524-5050

Email: boxoffice@dacamera.com

Dates & Times

2022/02/20 - 2022/02/20

Location Info

Rothko Chapel

3900 Yupon (at Sul Ross), Houston, TX 77006